J. Cole’s New Album KOD Drops Today

KOD cover art

Is it fitting or ironic that J. Cole dropped a new drug concept album on 4-20?  J. Cole’s new album (his fifth studio album) KOD is now available and it’s great!

Cole gave a few meanings for KOD … “Kids On Drugs” … those “kids” are really society as a whole and those drugs can range anywhere from alcohol to Facebook. KOD also means, according to Cole, “King Overdose” which refers to himself and his earlier days of drug use and “Kill Our Demons” … which is Cole’s antidote/solutions to society’s ills and dependence on said drugs.  After that Cole makes clear the rest is up for our interpretation.

As mentioned earlier, Cole speaks on various drugs that society has become addicted to everything from actual drugs like meth, heroin, etc. to conceptual drugs such as money, fame, love and even Instagram. With 12 tracks on the album, as with most of Cole’s album’s, KOD is greater as a whole than the sum of its parts. Off an initial listen though, the stand out tracks include Photograph, Brackets, Friends and 1985.  As J.Cole always has on past albums, he speaks to all manners of problems we currently facing in today’s digital world, he laments over lack of say on how his tax dollars are spent; speaks to falling in love on social media, and tries to warn rappers today about seeing the big picture with regards to their music and how they make and spend their money.

KOD tracklist


BTW, all you aspiring rappers that look up to guys like Lil Yachty or Lil Pump or Lil whoever, really need to take in 1985 … for reals!!!!

ROLLING STONE :  Hear J. Cole’s New ‘KOD’ Album

J. Cole’s KOD Track List
1. “Intro”
2. “KOD”
3. “Photograph”
4. “The Cut Off” featuring Kill Edward
5. “ATM”
6. “Motiv8”
7. “Kevin’s Heart”
8. “Brackets”
9. “Once an Addict (Interlude)”
10. “Friends” featuring Kill Edward
11. “Window Pain (Outro)”
12. “1985 (Intro to the Fall Off)”